Poets logo

My Mother and/or Another...Some Unkind Kind of Which

PPS YES!

By christy jordanPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
My Mother and/or Another...Some Unkind Kind of Which
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

For years I’ve been hooked.

On writing My Story as a book.

I always get stuck,

in the traumatic muck.

But that changed,

And in my mind I rearranged.

January 20, 2021 was the day,

I discovered another way!

A little black notebook writing contest!

I’ll do my best!

No cuss words allowed,

Of that, she would be proud.

I wrote my mother a letter.

Asking her to do me better

than in the past.

To at least help me at last.

Please, before I die...

Answer me...Why?

I got a return letter from my mother,

the one and only another…

This is what she wrote,

I don’t know.

Here’s a check for 20 grand,

To help you to understand,

you are strong and you are a fighter,

but you are not a very good writer.

I hope,

This helps.

Use this money,

entirely,

to pay someone else,

to tell your tales.

Because you will surely fail!

My last wish

is this,

At least about your youth,

Please, don’t tell the truth.

Save me my shame,

use a different name.

Nobody but you needs to know

Just how your story goes.

So, please and thank you, if you would...

To me, Ann Nonymous sounds good.

PPS YES!

I’ve always been a procrastinator,

I found out it’s better to do sooner than later:

when I started this journey of mine,

done completely in rhyme,

on Valentine’s Day!

And it’s already the 28th!

So, I’m in hurry!

I must scurry!

I’m not short on words, but, of time.

March 2nd is the fast approaching deadline!

I believe it is time now to set sail,

telling these tales,

By myself,

With nobody else

I know she still thinks she has the power,

To make me cower.

But, surprise!

Not this time!

I do not wish to be

anyone other than me!

inspirational
1

About the Creator

christy jordan

I am a 54/yo grandmother and I have been writing my autobiography for all of my life. only recently I have decided that it is time to share. 🥇✨

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.