Poets logo

Obsessed and/or Impressed...I Guess?

PPS YES!

By christy jordanPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Obsessed and/or Impressed...I Guess?
Photo by Giorgio Trovato on Unsplash

I put myself to the test,

with this little black notebook writing contest.

With the many words I ran,

toward the 20 grand!

Because, this is where I began,

No longer aching.

Make no mistaking,

I believe I am taking,

this so-called platform,

by beautiful, poetic storm!

All to transform,

Me.

Into what I should have known I could be.

Only now, taken seriously.

Many submissions,

I’m on a mission,

to prove that truth is far better than fiction!

I took a hard fall,

when I got the call,

I won it all!

First, second and third place!

No Way!

Over 20,000 dollars!

I collared,

I hollered!

PPS YES!

Just in case,

I need more space!

Because I won,

you may think that I am done,

having fun,

but, I am not!

I’ve got,

a lot,

of doubt,

to get out,

I shout!

Maybe, I figured me out!

I’m in a virtual reality game!

Is this lame?

Or just insane?

Please, let me explain...

I’m conquering fears!

Of all my years,

and so many tears!

Within all of the underlying ruse,

not meant to confuse,

only to tell the truths.

Fast!

At last!

Because, in the past,

Life tore me from this project of mine,

Forcing constant survival state of mind!

Not yet completely defined,

except in originality, by design.

A first, and now this, a second glance.

A generational dance,

Another chance.

Different circumstance.

Learned or taught?

Genetic or not?

However, it brought,

me out of my shell!

Without fail!

I’ve told my tale,

Now it's time to sell!

Edited by, a new and better me!

Hopefully, because it was clearly seen,

that there is more to My Story than just Me!

There is The Rest and Best of... My Story, too!

As well as, the developing story, My Story... Gen X times 3!

It’s been said the apple doesn’t fall from the tree…

Suddenly I see!

No longer such a mystery!

But 3 times as scary!

Sincerely,

Worried Me!

PPS YES!

Thanks! To a glitch!

A My Story niche,

which,

was discretely stitched,

and thoughtfully pitched,

and carefully shook,

to hook...

a closer look...

at Me and my book!

A possible phenomenon…

That can and will, keep going on and on and on!

Without limitations,

with exuberation,

not humiliation!

Higher anxieties with unexpected expectations!

Sincere thanks and much appreciation,

for this reconsideration!

Even more obsessed?

and/or impressed?

I guess,

I’ve addressed,

with success,

an alarming suspicion

and/or an admission,

and/or transition,

and/or a special edition,

I now write,

With such delight,

To incite,

The spotlight!

Shining on my position,

about a condition,

known as addiction,

and/or possible infliction,

and/or family tradition,

or my extraordinary and/or twisted diction?

I have gone,

above and beyond...

And on and on and on…

PPS YES!

WOW!

Now?

Please,

excuse Me,

I must write my speech

Because i

Got the biggest prize!

Pulitzer himself gave to me

$20,000 in real money!

For this trip!

And yet...

I bet,

you didn’t see that one coming!

How funny!

I dont really know,

Perhaps it was picasso

Who paid me to paint this colorful picture

In literature

For sure!

I adore,

Me!

They say every picture tells story,

and this one tells the story of Me.

Because, I can finally see,

all that I am meant to be!

It’s also been said that a picture is worth a thousand words

But, just in case I wasnt heard,

this one contains about 76 hundred!

It makes me smile with wonder...

About the upcoming thunder...

of My Story in Rhyme.

In just 4 days time,

and...

I believe its worth the 20 grand!

DAMN!

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

christy jordan

I am a 54/yo grandmother and I have been writing my autobiography for all of my life. only recently I have decided that it is time to share. 🥇✨

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.