Poets logo

My Melancholic Thanksgiving

The noise of dishes clinking in the morning will wake me up in the morning...

By Jessica Pedraza NicanorPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
My Melancholic Thanksgiving
Photo by Patrick Fore on Unsplash

The noise of dishes clinking in the morning will wake me up in the morning,

as I was going downstairs I would smell the turkey and the sweet potato pie baking,

I would see my mother cooking and focus on reading her recipes, from a distance I can see she was doing so much in the kitchen, and it was a mess,

I entered the kitchen and she would say "Good morning, I'm cooking for dinner tonight, Do you want breakfast?"

"Good morning. Yes mom please, or how can I help you?" I said "oh no no no I got it to sit down." she said to me.

I would sit down and watch her do me breakfast, she was full of happiness and excitement.

The breakfast she loved to do for me at thanksgiving was this dish called "Huevos Montados a Caballo", it was a Mexican dish she knew how to cook, and it was so delicious.

I remember that thanksgiving was the best one I ever had, she will always start the prayer, and she was so happy all her kids were with her, she was full of joy and life every holiday.

Now I wake up... I don't hear the clinking of dishes in the morning, I don't smell the turkey and the sweet potato pie baking,

I don't see my mom focus on reading her recipes, I don't see the kitchen a mess, and I can not say good morning to her,

the breakfast she would make for me was not cooked anymore, I can't see her cook full of joy and excitement.

All I stare at now is a dark kitchen with no one there...

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jessica Pedraza Nicanor

Writing is about sharing any type of emotions and thoughts the writer has to share with the public. I share my writing with only one purpose, let my feelings through my writing relate, help, and inspire someone out there.

IG:@jessinicza

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.