Poets logo

My Lost Dreams

What happens to those lost dreams of ours?

By Matthew MccaheyPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
10
My Lost Dreams
Photo by Kristian Løvstad on Unsplash

My Lost Dreams

I wanted to be many things growing up

I wanted to be all the possible things in the world

My soul was greedy like that

But there wasn’t enough time, tolerance or energy for me to be those things

So, one by one I watched the dreams die, the memories fade

But of all the things I wanted to be

I wanted most to be someone great

I wanted to bring change, help someone heal

Most of all I wanted to die out quickly and suddenly

You see, I wanted to be like a beautiful firework

Illuminating the night sky for just a moment

Piercing the minds of all who saw me with color

For that moment they stop and stared. “Wow”

Then I faded out of sight, returned to ashes

Scattering across the hearts of those below

But I burned out somewhere along the way

My lit fuse extinguished by life

Thrown in a box of fireworks to be used another year

But every year it rained, and there I sat collecting dust

Wondering if I could ever see the sky one last time

There were so many things I couldn’t become

That loved ones wanted me to

A fool put on the pedestal and treated like a king

But a fool I was, and no more than a fool could I be

So many branches of opportunity lost on my tree

I wanted no one to look up to me

Sitting in my burning tree

“Be this, be that, do more, do this” They sounded like a banshee

When was it my turn to be free?

What about my life? What about my dreams?

What about the hope I lost? The things I could never be?

Why was I told I never mattered but others did?

Why were my dreams less important?

I was told by the world I was self-centered, selfish

As if I was the problem

But all I wanted was some peace

sad poetry
10

About the Creator

Matthew Mccahey

I want to use stories and life experiences to allow others to be open about their own.

https://linktr.ee/Authormack729

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Linda Rivenbarkabout a year ago

    So rich in imagery and emotion! This poem brings on so many memories of times when I was passed over, never got to try or do the things I wanted to, and felt like my aspirations were not important. It also reminds me that they are, and it is never too late as long as we are breathing. I subscribed to you long ago and have not seen any of your work for a while. This was a good one to reconnect on!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Ah, this was so raw and real. Relatable. These lines really spoke to me, 'Thrown in a box of fireworks to be used another year But every year it rained, and there I sat collecting dust' Well done, you have a new subscriber :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.