Poets logo

My Letter to Mr. Darcy

I once pled to Jane Austen's character: "Gaze in my fine eyes; love me despite your pride."

By Eileen DavisPublished 2 years ago Updated 12 months ago 2 min read
1
Wallflower Me (Photo by C. Davis)

Dearest Darcy,

Your terse words evoked

Anguish, longing, hope, warmth

I loved you alongside Caroline

I loved you before Lizzy

Why weren’t you mine?

I once pled:

“Glance at wallflower me

Dance with me

Gaze in my fine eyes

Violently declare your affection

Love me despite your pride”

Understand I was part

Loud Lydia

Moralizing Mary

Not enough Lizzy

Adore me anyway

Oh, austere Darcy,

I kept falling for you--

Gentlemen like you

But

None fell for me

None humbled themselves for me

I don’t blame you

Aloof, reserved soul

Yet at times I do

In my naivete

I wanted you

When I needed Bingley

His open affection

His reassurance

His embrace

So Mr. Darcy,

Go hike your breeches

Pull up your Hessian bootstraps

Loop your cravat

Whatever

I’m over you

I found my Bingley

Mrs. C. Davis

For more of my musings, subscribe, or follow me on Twitter @oeileend_oed. If you can, consider pledging or leaving a tip too. Thanks!

Below I read my poem aloud and include pictures of gowns and moments with my Bingley.

To capture Darcy's or Bingley's attention, I altered, made, or bought various dresses over the years. Truly, I enjoy creating beauty as clothing or myself as a canvas.

Junior Prom (courtesy of author)

My sister made this dress patterned after Eliza Doolittle's ball gown during her high school years. After she graduated, I beaded the top of the gown, shortened the length, and added the panel on the neckline (my sister is 7" taller than I am).

College Days and my Mr. Bingley (Photos by my mother, father-in-law, and roommate)

For Christmas my senior year of high school, my parents gifted me fabric and a pattern to make a medieval dress. I embroidered the dress with gold thread. I wore it to prom, for Halloween, and for playing dress-up. In the top left picture, I am a pregnant princess (the After Happily Ever After). In the middle left picture, my partner and I chacha the second and last round. In the bottom left picture, two neighborhood girls and I dressed up. On the right, my father-in-law captured a moment the night before my wedding and the moments after marrying in the Monticello, Utah temple.

Photo by C. Davis

I sewed lace on the pink ribbon to place on the neckline and around the waist. I made a ribbon headband using elastic underneath (same with the waistband). I glued ribbon flowers onto a fake pearl necklace and bobby pins. I bought the dress from Ross; the gloves from a local gown shop; and the necklace, bracelets, ribbons, etc from Walmart. Mr. Davis loves the outfit.

heartbreaklove poemsvintage
1

About the Creator

Eileen Davis

Writer. Blogger. Poet. Avid reader. Boy mom. Have bipolar 2. Experience bisexual attraction. News Junkie. Love America. Love China. English language BA from BYU. Follow me on X, Facebook, Medium, or my blog.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.