Poets logo

my kitchen, a window

a poem

By Dane BHPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in Get Comfortable Challenge
7

Over a simple dessert of

clementines and conversation,

she rubs her belly and offers some advice:

"Wouldn't you love

to make a living doing this?"

||

I've just served her collard greens,

slow cooked in a cast iron pot,

soothed with butter until the leaves

fold like gentle yoga.

||

She says it's the closest thing to Georgia

she's tasted west of Texas and north

of the Mason-Dixon line.

I can tell by the way her eyes

slip towards the window

that her memories of home

don't warm her like mine do,

but there's something to be said

for proper collard greens.

||

I've never cooked in a restaurant.

Never felt my feet grip rubber mats

or said Order up! in anything but fun.

I've never worked a line or station,

but I've seen the dance they talk about.

||

My kitchen fits one comfortably,

but two people who know what they're doing

can make dinner prep look like

a game of Mousetrap, or a Rube-Goldberg machine –

every bowl and body part set just in time to receive

the egg yolks, the soaked beans, the cream sauce near to

breaking.

||

It's no secret that I sing to my garlic.

||

The nicest man I ever cooked for

swore he could taste melodies in my soup.

I can conjure my grandmother

with an onion, a frying pan, and a fire.

I'm not sure they teach you this in cooking school.

||

So, no. I won't ever make a living out of these acts

of soup and birthday cake.

Instead, I'll cook like homesick medicine,

turn my built-for-one kitchen into a window

that frames your belly's desire,

where the scent of garlic and collard greens

can set you dreaming

of home.

love poems
7

About the Creator

Dane BH

By day, I'm a cog in the nonprofit machine, and poet. By night, I'm a creature of the internet. My soul is a grumpy cat who'd rather be sleeping.

Top Story count: 17

www.danepoetry.com

Check out my Vocal Spotlight and my Vocal Podcast!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Loryne Andawey2 years ago

    "I've just served her collard greens,/slow cooked in a cast iron pot,/soothed with butter until the leaves/fold like gentle yoga." I am enthralled.

  • John Eva2 years ago

    "It's no secret I sing to my garlic" - my new favorite line of this competition - please keep writing!

  • This was so wonderful. Loved how you've incorporates all the senses into the poem. Fantastic job. I loved it!

  • Caroline Jane2 years ago

    Wistfully sublime. Adore this poem. ❤

  • Garlic: brings out the best :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.