Poets logo

My Ideal Man

June 2020

By N. ThomasPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
My Ideal Man
Photo by Vitor Pinto on Unsplash

I don't need the next Adam Sandler,

but have a good sense of humor and make me laugh sometimes

Put up with my goofiness

At least pretend to laugh at my corny jokes and bad pickup lines

I won't object if you buy me gifts

but don't rely on it to impress me or as a way to keep me happy

It's not what's most important in life

Money and material things can be great, but don't make it a top priority

We don't have to agree on everything

but I want someone with similar religious and political views

We can debate potential policies

Politics are one thing, but I won't compromise my personal values

I don't need the next T.D. Jakes

but being an active Christian is an idea that I like to promote

Try to be respectful and loving to others

If you aren't helping anyone else, I don't care how many verses you quote

I know I can talk a lot sometimes

but try to listen to me and remember things I say

You don't have to nod and take notes

just let me tell you what's on my mind, and ask about my day

I want to know your character

When you're wrong, do you admit it, apologize, and make amends?

Are you trustworthy? Do you have integrity?

Are you there for your family and dependable and loyal to your friends?

I don't need the next Langston Hughes

but don't make me guess what you want, where I stand, or how you feel

Tell me your thoughts and opinions and communicate

Don't always leave me on "read," let me know the deal

I don't need you to write perfectly

but don't make me have to proofread and decipher every text before I can respond

Use your intelligence and common sense

Think critically and independently, don't be easily conned

Contribute more to the conversation than a nod

Be willing to continuously learn, grow, and reflect on your paradigms

I don't need the next Barack Obama

but have ambition beyond just existing every day for the rest of time

I want to encourage and care for each other

Make our health somewhat of a priority, keep our minds and bodies reasonably fit

I want to have plenty of time to enjoy together

but still let me feed you and maybe fatten you up a little bit

I'll give you massages and thoughtful gifts

I'll treat you like a king, give you attention and affection, please reciprocate

Let me love on you, and be a little flexible

Be willing to stay in and cuddle sometimes or sometimes go out on a date

I want to be comfortable with each other

I'd love to stay home and watch movies with you in bed

We can take turns planning date nights

Maybe sometimes we'll paint or dance or maybe go to an exhibit instead

Sometimes we'll just hold hands and go for a walk

Sometimes we might want to try something new out of our comfort zone

There are so many possible things we can do

The important thing is that we will never spend another night alone

love poems
Like

About the Creator

N. Thomas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.