Poets logo

Good Enough

March 2020

By N. ThomasPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Good Enough
Photo by Brian Kyed on Unsplash

I almost started believing I was good enough

when you told me I was pretty, funny, sweet, and kind

I was good enough to make a slight effort when convenient

but not good enough to stay on your mind

I was good enough to make you laugh and smile

but it turned out to be you who clowned me

I was good enough to pursue for a while

but not good enough to stop looking when you found me

I was good enough to stay by your side when no one else was

but not good enough to keep you from creeping with those whores

I'm good enough to visit you when no one else does

but not good enough to claim me as yours

You could ask me to wait on you hand and foot

but asking you to commit is something that offends

I'm good enough to hit up on Snapchat

but not good enough to be Facebook friends

I was good enough to fuck on the regular

but not good enough to make it official, let alone make your wife

I was good enough to waste a few of my years

but not good enough for the rest of your life

You weren't willing to make a commitment

but more than willing to enjoy all the perks

I was good enough to stick around when things were easy

but not good enough to put in any work

I was good enough for you to say you loved me

but not good enough that it ever showed

I was good enough for you to come along for the ride

but not good enough to carry some of the load

I was good enough to keep around

so you kept dangling that glimmer of hope

but when it wasn't fun anymore and I was suffering

you couldn't be bothered to help me cope

I was good enough for you to lean on

Good enough to put up bail and show up to court

I was good enough to encourage you when you were down

but not good enough for you to return the support

I was good enough to keep you company and be at your beck and call

on those cold lonely nights I was good enough to cozy up with and snuggle

I was good enough to let me spend my money on you

Then you came up and watched me struggle

I was good enough to help you get a job

Good enough to help you get through school

You appreciated my intelligence at the time

but you still played me for a fool

I was good enough to spend all my time

Good enough to travel all those miles

I turned out to be just a pit stop for you

but I was good enough to be your safe haven for a while

I spoiled you and treated you like a king

and you never seemed to mind

I was good enough to encourage you to keep moving forward

just for you to leave me behind

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

N. Thomas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.