Poets logo

My Hood Angel

I met him in the summer of '93...now he belongs to me.

By Lori BrooksPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

Our eyes met and my poor heart skipped a beat

I felt you saw me; right through to my soul

A hood chick from the wrong side of the streets

Your smile wrapt me in warmth like smol'dring coals

An angel, yes! That's how you I'd describe

Backpack for wings; halo's a fitted cap

No liquor do you e'er dare to imbibe

You keep your mind so pure and that's no cap

You asked me and I near forgot my name

The brightness of your light was so intense

You said you were a moth drawn to MY flame

You said I smelt of myrrh and frankincense

And now we two are one, and one made three

Inside my womb's our greatest legacy.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.