Poets logo

My Hill, My Mountain

an Inverse Poem

By Cathy holmesPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
Photo by Lucas Clara on Unsplash

For this is the mountain I choose to live on

it’s an arduous climb, still on I must go

tentative vulnerability

controls

my every step

knowing, even welcoming that

failure IS INEVITABLE.

fear of success. fear of

opening myself up to

condemnation and

ridicule

no more

I STRUGGLE.

I gasp

for my final breath

here now, the end of me

this

is

the hill that I will die on

inspirationalFree Verse

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (21)

  • Rachel Deeming6 months ago

    Masterful. Dammit, I wish I could do these!

  • Ken_kudu6 months ago

    great❤️🔥

  • Ruth Stewart6 months ago

    This is totally awesome. I can't believe how great it works. I have difficulty wrapping my head round the concept so I'm blown away by your talent. Fabulous.

  • Kristen Balyeat6 months ago

    Cathy! You are so freaking good at these inverse pieces, it blows my mind! This one is gorgeous! 🙌🏽👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽💞💫

  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    Brilliant work Cathy. Well done! 😄👍

  • Lamar Wiggins6 months ago

    Another good one, Cathy! It works so well.

  • beautifully done!

  • Great take on the challenge and thank you for sharing this journey with us

  • Kalina Bethany6 months ago

    As an avid hiker, I have literally felt this while summiting mountains in the Vancouver Island region. Brought back fun memories as I reminisce in these snowy months... Thanks, Cathy :)

  • I love how the negative flips to positive when read in reverse! Fantastic poem!

  • Whether living or dying, this is nicely done, Cathy.

  • sleepy drafts6 months ago

    I love this! It's all about perspective. Gorgeously done. Your craftsmanship is always supreme. 💗

  • Sandra Matos6 months ago

    Very well done! I enjoyed reading. I am struggling to write mine! Good luck!

  • Tiffany Gordon 6 months ago

    Brilliant!

  • L.C. Schäfer6 months ago

    Very clever! We've all got one haven't we!

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    Nicely done.

  • Novel Allen6 months ago

    Getting those lines to inverse is a gift. Beautifully executed Cathy. I still am trying to get a few done,

  • Heather Hubler6 months ago

    Ah, my brilliant friend, this was magnificent. I loved the complete switch in thought between the forward and reverse versions. Absolutely amazing work!! Damn.

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Magnificent!!! Live and die mountains or hill love your reverse poem!!!💕♥️♥️

  • Real Poetic6 months ago

    This is incredible both ways!!!! Phenomenally written Cathy!

Cathy holmesWritten by Cathy holmes

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.