Poets logo

My Hidden Visage

... the face is formed ...

By CaeizarPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Art by Alex Cipriano @alexciprianoart

I hide my face not in an abject shame

Rather because I cannot bare the blame

Of bringing my good friends utter disdain

“Jerk”, a moniker I don't want to claim

+

Hopefully with every word you'll feel

My face as more than demure stolid steel

Or some forgotten course in a bland meal

Here now I share my emotional deal

+

Taste my true words and drink and see

The words that make me truly me

With bounding ardor and passionate vie

It might be my best work before I die

+

Many emotions and ideas a splendor

But only so many words to give to render

The torn about face of this poetry sender

As I begin this long-winded wordsmithing trek

+

Only a man who can do what he can

I don't have some great plot or myriad plan

Nor careful blueprints for which you to scan

Or bygone rebel of whom you can ban

+

But maybe if you're lucky you'll find

Amazing stories and emotions mined

A mind no longer so held and confined

From the known relations that seek to bind

+

So no more word games and no more mimes

There's more to read and I hear the chimes

Of bells of poetry telling the times

That I should let you read on my dear friend

+

My visage is given for all to abide

But you'll have to use my syllable tide

Let me be then your mysterious guide

To unveil the visage I try to hide

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Caeizar

Take a drink from my words and see. See the words that make truly me. Let me be your mysterious guide, to unveil the visage I try to hide.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.