Poets logo

The Last Kiss

... steel fashioned ...

By CaeizarPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1

artwork by Alex Cipriano @alexciprianoart

+

All armor here prepared to be fastened

With my one-self ready for steel fashioned

Clasped to my body fully impassioned

But nothing compared to your lasting face

+

We talk slowly in mere low mutterings

Feeling as though in a trance sputtering

"Can you help with that" I go stuttering

Seeking help in placing my iron shell

+

First, gambeson to soften blows fighting

Next, hauberk to keep the swords from biting

Last, brig to stop even more inviting

Death to the table of my short-lived life

+

Gently you help with scapular and cape

Secure my gorget to protect my nape

Letting the bright red fabric flow and drape

From my back to your hands at my shoulders

+

Gauntlets so I can punch myself back to your arms

Pauldrons so I can keep away from evils harms

With my perfectly fitted shiny steel vambrace

So my arms can give you back a close warm embrace

+

You place on my head my full faced barbute

See your visage in tears but voice so mute

But my visor our love does not dilute

I shall not leave my love so destitute

+

Lift my steel curtain of metal one last time

To render the last kiss that shall be mine

Your face is like heaven, lips taste like wine

In that moment our spirits thus align

+

As I ride on slowly from what I miss

I think deeply, that could be the last kiss

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Caeizar

Take a drink from my words and see. See the words that make truly me. Let me be your mysterious guide, to unveil the visage I try to hide.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.