Poets logo

My Heart Is Dead

By: Tokaya

By Maliah TokayPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

My skin still warm

My lungs still breathing

My hair still growing

My mouth still eating

I put my right hand on the left side of my chest, I feel no heartbeat though

That's cause my heart is dead

How can that be?

If my legs still walking

My eyes still crying

My tongue still talking

If my heart is dead, shouldn't I be dying?

But my hands still holding

And my brain still thinking

Got that feeling of regret you know, when you feel your stomach sinking?

My blood still flowing

My ears still hearing

My arms still waving

My body still shaking

What kind of miracle is this?

It doesn't feel so great

The kind that comes from pain?

The kind that grows from hate?

The kind that hurts your heart and makes it go away?

No electric shock or CPR can save it it's too late.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Maliah Tokay

I am a 37 year old Hispanic female. I am also a recovering drug addict and ex-convict. I express my emotions and experience through poetry. Everything about me is real and at it's rawest form. I hide nothing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.