Poets logo

My Greek Siren

My attempt at a villanelle.

By Sarah LoydPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
3
My Greek Siren
Photo by Wilhelm Gunkel on Unsplash

My Greek siren sings to me

Haunting refrains to lure me in

The gods had warned me of devilish beauty

I've been fooled by a delicate harpy

With eyes like emerald green

My Greek siren sings to me

A sonnet, spell-binding harmony

The love of a centaur queen

The gods had warned me of devilish beauty

Adonis cannot compare to thee

A face Medusa can see herin

My Greek siren sings to me

Of a love that can rise above the sea

Strong and bold as a griffin

The gods had warned me of devilish beauty

To the hydra, I will flee

Hades can take my sin

My Greek siren sings to me

The gods had warned me of devilish beauty

What do you think of my villanelle? Let me know in the comments. And be sure to heart, subscribe, all that good stuff. If you like this, check out my other poems and musings.

VillanelleOdelove poemsBallad
3

About the Creator

Sarah Loyd

I love movies, music, TV, and all things entertaining. I also love to write poetry. Follow me on Twitter @musicl0v3 and on Mix https://mix.com/sarahloyd You can also find me on Pinterest @sloydmarie

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 months ago

    This was so beautiful and such a perfectly executed Villanelle!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.