Poets logo

My Flight From Danger Was A Failure To Escape

Coming Home

By Tree LangdonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
My Flight From Danger Was A Failure To Escape
Photo by Brian Babb on Unsplash

I lingered in the long day

waiting for the sun

in the shallow of spring.

Time alone

was coming to a close.

My gaze was slowly turning

toward home.

A sudden summoning

startled me awake.

A withering of hope

left no room for fine lines.

Reluctant as a child

I dragged my feet,

trailing my skipping rope behind.

I joined the dance

of hurry up and wait.

A persistent calculation

in this long game of chess.

The tedium required

a hot determination.

I greased a palm

and cut the tape.

Returning to an altered land

that holds an echo

of memory of my home,

I retreat to my house.

My flight from danger

was a failure to escape.

For the present moment

the drought of my spirit

was quenched by my wandering.

I am mired

in a shared swamp

of vulnerability.

The churning of my mind

seeks a story underneath

the illusion of the facts.

Does the mother seek revenge;

in a purifying wave

sent to cleanse the debris?

The ultimate rejection.

Is there a penance

to offer?

Compensation

that would suffice?

I cease to push

for inner understanding.

Sink into silence.

I pause my life

and let my ego leave the scene;

go rogue

and let the silence breathe.

Presented with

a room of clues

I’m squeezed between

two points of interruption.

The darkness sinks me.

I collect the marbles

of my mind

and tuck them in their box.

With ritual I begin

the opening of my heart.

as purple rain leaks

from the safety valve.

I slip my cape:

sidestep my thoughts of fear:

search for the portal of hope.

A sliver pushes through

the darkness of the earth.

Unfurling in the fullness of the sun.

If you'd like to connect, find me on Twitter, Wordpress, and Quora.

If you enjoyed this story, send me a tip so I can write another one.

Or share it on social media. Your recognition means a lot to me.

Read Next >

This story also appears on Medium by Tree Langdon, the author.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Tree Langdon

Get an idea, a new word and a question.

For more, read my bio here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.