Poets logo

Line Dried Sheets

Until The End Of Things

By Tree LangdonPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
2
line dried sunshine

I want

to dance

through flowered meadows

in the spring

to turn my face

to touch the shining wind

as rain brings freshness to the air.

I want

to feel the fields

reach toward returning geese

and hear them greet

familiar lands

where young fish rise

in shallow pools

and birdsong rises

to the clouds.

I want

to smell the sweetness

of the cottonwood,

to see its drifts

of summer white

as plumes of seeds release

and seek a moist nest

in the earth.

I want

to chase a cloud of fireflies

running in my garden boots

as I catch them in my net

and save them

in my fairy jar

to watch them twinkle

in the night.

I want

lightness in my breath

my feet to sweep

through fallen leaves

that swirl in circles

settling on

the carpet of the forest floor

and a bounce in my step

until the half years end.

I want

to gently hold

your hand in mine,

to skip

through snowflakes

as the moonlight

floats through streetlights

and the winter withering

brings closure to the year.

I want

to carry you as treasure

clearly in my mind.

Each moment

I’ve collected

is a jewel

I hold up to my eyes.

A prism made of memories.

I want

to hold the sky

forever in my sight

like oceans green and blue

all hues and tones

beneath

the depth of light

and height of darkness.

And always

to see your eyes smile.

I want birdsong

at sunrise

their humming fills my ears

with cool smooth songs

that speak

and seek the ocean depths.

The piercing eagles cry

as it calls to its mate

and the sound

of your voice

the deep heat of your breath

speaking words of love.

I want

stillness and peace

and line-dried sheets.

Soft down blankets

to wrap us close

and hold us safe

and in our arms

there is love

until the end of things.

If you'd like to connect, find me on Twitter, Wordpress, and Quora.

If you enjoyed this story, send me a tip so I can write another one.

Or share it on social media. Your recognition means a lot to me.

Read Next >

This story also appears on Medium by Tree Langdon, the author.

love poems
2

About the Creator

Tree Langdon

Get an idea, a new word and a question.

For more, read my bio here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.