Poets logo

His Promise Of Safety Was The Trap

Red Flags A Flying

By Tree LangdonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
His Promise Of Safety Was The Trap
Photo by Alex Iby on Unsplash

They were there all along,

snapping in the wind.

I wasn’t prepared.

Had never been aware.

No one was there

to tell me not to trust.

Jealousy and judgment

were sold as protection

with words that struck

like hissing snakes.

When he informed me

my friends were no good

and smothered them in silence.

I chose to be with him instead.

He was right, my fault

no apology required.

There was no one to show me

what they could clearly see.

When he told me what to wear.

I set aside my preferences.

Doubting my truth

was an act of disablement.

Silenced by protection,

ignoring my feelings,

I made a bargain

without asking the price.

The signs were always there,

underneath the rubbish

in the alleys of my mind.

I didn’t want to look.

I didn’t want to know.

It was safer not to know.

“Sometimes the questions are complicated and the answers are simple.” Dr. Seuss

If you'd like to connect, find me on Twitter, Wordpress, and Quora.

If you enjoyed this story, send me a tip so I can write another one.

Or share it on social media. Your recognition means a lot to me.

Read Next >

This story also appears on Medium by Tree Langdon, the author.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Tree Langdon

Get an idea, a new word and a question.

For more, read my bio here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.