Poets logo

My Favorite Character

My favorite costume

By MJ WoodPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like

People are not my thing

I want them to be- they never have been

I try to relate- fall flat

Try again

Observation has become my art

Hearkening ears

Hardening heart

I wait

Until one day, in a sterile dressing room

Inhospitably, limbs being measured

While I envision this meaningless character

Scripts like this feel like a carousel

“Those pants don’t look good on you”

These people

This profession

Not a lick of it feels true

I escape the room of pins and needles

Frankly, there you stand

Asking me to open in ways

Only you know I can

Begging me to feel myself

Instead of those around

Our minds, in sync, in fervor

My tongue-tied mouth coming unwound

Near racks of polyester

Uniforms galore

I find my time, my space

You pick my heart up off the floor

You comprehend more in this moment

About me than most people have thus far

It’s clear we both have chosen

Each other. Our eyes resemble stars

excerpts
Like

About the Creator

MJ Wood

A 29 year old farmer with a fastidious mind

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

MJ Wood is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.