Poets logo

'My Father's Daughter', 'My Mother's Daughter', and 'The Lily'

The sixth, seventh, and eighth stories in 'Divine Revelation'.

By annie harperPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
'My Father's Daughter', 'My Mother's Daughter', and 'The Lily'
Photo by Serafima Lazarenko on Unsplash

Definitely my father’s daughter.

But if only you could see

What his lasting impression

Is pressing onto me.

.

.

.

My mother’s daughter also.

So there’s nothing more to do.

I know I’m screwed because her

Favourite colour was always blue.

.

.

.

With her petals folded tenderly,

She held her head up high.

Her leaves were green but weathered

Beneath the cold June sky.

.

She stretched toward the heavens

And asked her booming “why?”

But no one had an answer

So, I told her not to cry.

.

Sometimes beauty just isn’t enough.

Sometimes we just have to bluff

And go on about stupid stuff.

But as long as we’re together,

We can outlast this grey weather

Because the wind and rain can never

Break our iron tether.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

annie harper

Just an actor from Central Queensland, writing some short stories and poetry. I hope you find one you like <3

TW: a lot of my work contains mentions of self-harm, suicide, death, abuse, and mental illness. Please be gentle with yourself.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.