Poets logo

Favourite Animal

The fifth story of 'Divine Revelation'.

By annie harperPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Favourite Animal
Photo by Timothy Dykes on Unsplash

When I was six and they asked me what my favourite animal was I said puppies. They were small and cuddly and soft and warm.

When I was nine and they asked me what my favourite animal was I said dragons. They were strong and fierce and protective and brave. They’re my dad’s favourite and I just want to be like him.

When I was fourteen and they asked me what my favourite animal was I said butterflies. They’re resilient and transformed and beautiful and delicate. They’re my mum’s favourite and I just want to be like her.

Now I’m eighteen and they ask me what my favourite animal is. I want to say dragons and butterflies and puppies and cats and bunnies and snakes and crocodiles. But I’ve grown up now so I say caterpillars.

Because the dragons only exist in memories and the butterflies are only beautiful because the caterpillars are brave.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

annie harper

Just an actor from Central Queensland, writing some short stories and poetry. I hope you find one you like <3

TW: a lot of my work contains mentions of self-harm, suicide, death, abuse, and mental illness. Please be gentle with yourself.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Toby Heward2 years ago

    Got to hand it to your creativity and memory. Keep up the work. If you have time for a quick read, here's a little story for ya. https://vocal.media/fiction/the-life-of-twister

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.