Poets logo

My family is my home

A Poem

By Greg B.Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
My family is my home
Photo by Daniele Colucci on Unsplash

I'm sorry for time lost

Closely related

Yet our paths rarely crossed

I'm sorry I never knew, that terrible thing, that you went through.

I'm sorry we were distant, not given a chance

Prelude to our meeting

Pressed prayer hands.

I'm sorry I was selfish, putting my problems on you

I'm grateful for acceptance, believe I missed you

I thought of you often,

I'd fill in the blanks

Coneys at Goldstar

Fun at Golden Skates

I'm sorry I was too weak, to stand and speak out

My bed was on quicksand

My dreams were in doubt

My mornings were tantrums

Fast spinning and daze

Findlay Market on weekends

My childhood ablaze

Early morning my porch

chemicals so potent

choking on mary

that grew in the garden

you came to see me

big house easy street

hard knock my landlord

shaken my belief

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Greg B.

Black Man. Writer.

Now abideth faith, hope, charity, these three; but the greatest of these is charity.”

“I sit with Shakespeare and he winced not.”

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.