Poets logo

My Experimental Heart

For Heather's Unscramble Challenge

By Cathy holmesPublished about a month ago Updated about a month ago 1 min read
18
Photo by Alexandru Acea

Below is my entry for Heather's Unscramble challenge. The word I have chosen is "Experimental".

---

Did you think that you could alter,

that your sham trial wouldn’t falter,

when you’d tamper with the rhythm of my experimental heart?

*

Did you think you were an expert,

with ample knowledge you could impart,

as you laid me on your petri plate to tear my world apart?

*

That your lying eyes would entrap me?

That your deceitful smile wouldn’t alert me,

when you’d expel my morality like it’s only a spare part?

*

Well, your toxins didn’t permeate.

Your soul’s black seed can’t germinate.

So, I think I’ll take my exit and plan for a fresh start.

*

Now you say you wish to repent,

But I’ve seen you in your element,

And I know it’s just a trapline meant to examine and compart.

*

I won’t fall for your sorry lament,

of the imaginary ailment,

that sparks your terminal connection to my experimental heart.

performance poetry
18

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Bonnie Bowerman29 days ago

    Loved this!!!!!

  • Tiffany Gordon about a month ago

    Phenomenal! Go Cathy Go! 👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾

  • Heather Hublerabout a month ago

    Ooooo...someone brought their A game!! This was fantastic, dear Nitty :) I loved all the words you chose. This worked so well. (pat yourself on the shoulder and give Abigail a treat for this fantastic piece)

  • Esala Gunathilakeabout a month ago

    Actually, the image gave me a horror thought but when reading this I was like 'man, read this again and again and again..... ' .

  • The Invisible Writerabout a month ago

    Excellent job with this Cathy!

  • Some wonderful words and great take on the challenge

  • Kodahabout a month ago

    “tamper with my rhythm of my experimental heart” Wowowowow!! Incredible poem , Cathy!! Very well-done! 💌

  • Novel Allenabout a month ago

    What is an experimental heart???? Does it mean you are are loving em and leaving em. Cause there will be a lot of broken hearts. Still, we need to be sure...so experiment away.

  • JBazabout a month ago

    when you’d tamper with the rhythm of my experimental heart? What a terrific line, strong yet shows a vulnerable part as well.

  • Grz Colmabout a month ago

    😊👏 “tamper with my rhythm of my experimental heart”. Your poetry is always straight to the heart! Very cool - I also kind of sang most of this in my head whilst reading. 😁

  • Colleen Millsteed about a month ago

    I love the message in your poem Cathy. Powerful words my friend.

  • Lacy Loar-Gruenlerabout a month ago

    Ohhh, Cathy, this is so sharp, bold, and lyrical. I LOVE the term experimental heart; it says so much and the poem is so well crafted in your expert hands.

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    "as you laid me on your petri plate to tear my world apart?" That line was my favourite! You nailed this challenge!

  • Heather Zieffle about a month ago

    Hard hitting! Love it!

  • John Coxabout a month ago

    Another intense and hard hitting poem, Cathy!

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Bold performance poem & loved it!!!💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.