Poets logo

My Dearest Margaret

My Wish

By Cathy DeslippePublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
My Dearest Margaret
Photo by UX Gun on Unsplash

It's been days since I last wrote to you, my dear.

My plan tune is strong; please dont fear.

The war is terrible, and we won't hold back.

We will win this war, for we know it as a fact.

I only wish my sweet honey bear.

That soon it was over, and I could caress your long hair.

I gaze at your picture, thinking of the night we danced.

I knew I loved you with only one glance.

I often wonder how hard it's been being a nurse for you.

So many casualties; I get concerned when I think of you.

I wish for the first moment when I arrive back.

Never again will we be apart; I know this for a fact,

I dream of the day you shall become my wife.

We will live on a farm, raise children and love life.

I pray daily for both of us to be together very soon.

I feel your presents when I gaze at the moon.

I have to move on, closer to the sea.

Once I am there, you will hear more from me.

Plan for the future, the joy that soon shall come.

Remember my sweet Margaret, my beauty. You will always be

"my number one."

Forever in my heart,

never far apart.

Love

James xoxo

By Miss Lacitos on Unsplash

love poems
2

About the Creator

Cathy Deslippe

Catherine Deslippe

At the age of 7, I became an author. I am an international writer with many authors; all royalties went to cancer patients without insurance. I used to write to cope, but now I write to bring others hope.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantorabout a year ago

    Remembering: Wrote Back/Forth letters to wife when Deployed - Still have them triple bagged - but can't bring myself to look at them ~ you always bring out memories ~ - Vocal Author Community - Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.