Poets logo

My Dear Friend

Thank you for being you

By Colleen Millsteed Published about a year ago 1 min read
3
Image courtesy of Pixabay

Kindred spirit, torn between worlds,

You’re like my younger self learning all the tough lessons once more,

We did our time, paid for our crimes,

Struggling in our youth like never before.

***

It pains my heart to see you suffer,

Knowing the bonds to which you are bound,

Your heart is raw, it’s been beaten bloody,

But still you shower kindness all around.

***

Love seems always just a little out of reach,

Then we brave the act, open our heart,

To be burnt badly, cruelly broken,

Oh, I understand fully that pain sweetheart.

***

Hidden from view, happier that way,

Knowing the struggles endured, only just okay,

I can see the goodness you inherently possess,

But worry when you disappear for more than a day.

***

I truly understand the nightmares you’ve suffered,

But I’m in awe of the strength you’ve since shown,

As I’ve thirty odd years on you,

I’m confident you’ll grow into the powerful warrior heart I’ve known.

***

Take the time to hide as you need,

Unapologetic for the hours you take as your own,

Self love is tough but absolutely necessary,

And you owe no one an explanation for how you’ve grown.

***

Where you are now, I’ve lived that horror,

I’ve felt the heartbreak, the bruised emotions, the excruciating pain,

That only time can heal, time stolen alone,

It’s an essential part of staying incredibly sane.

***

But know deep within that tender heart of yours,

You’ll never truly be alone ever again, you can depend,

I’m just a word or two away, at any given time,

Please yell out if you’re ever in need of a friend!

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

inspirationalsocial commentary
3

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Beautiful, empathetic piece. Well done.

  • This was such a wonderful and uplifting poem! The world needs more people like you. You're such a kind and beautiful soul 🥰🥰🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.