Poets logo

My day

Wasting

By Katie Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
My day
Photo by Annie Nyle on Unsplash

I turn towards tomorrow, with no regrets for today.

For today is nearly done. Have I given my all for today?

Have I used, fully what has been given to me? Or did I acquiesce? Accepting this gift without an acknowledgment of it’s value, simply another day in a long line of days.

Do any of us really?

Do we live fully what has been bestowed upon us? Are we slipping further and further into a life of little import?

Can you honestly say to yourself, that you did use this day to it’s fullest?

Did you even go outside?

I too, am guilty of, more often than not of wasting my time. We have to disconnect in order to connect, the addiction, and it is an addiction, to our devices, taking more and more of our time. The science of the addiction is indisputable, the endorphins released everytime we interact with that handheld drug. To go somewhere without it causes undo stress and withdrawals. Even hunters having to post thier narcissistic self’s and their accomplishments.

So today is not over yet, I still have time, time to reconcile with myself the wasting of the gift.

I can still reclaim some measure of accomplishment in not having wasted the whole day at least.

Even a simple walk with the dogs, and not the phone, giving me back a small part of my life.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Katie

Really just an amateur trying my hand at this.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.