Poets logo

My Date with the Reaper

One that came a little too early...

By Eliza VargasPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
My Date with the Reaper
Photo by fotografierende on Unsplash

It happened one night

when I was asleep in my bed.

He gave me a fright

from the depths in my head.

At first, I wasn't quite sure who the man was;

with a skull and a scythe in the shadows that came.

But the more lifeless I felt I thought it was because,

no I can't say it, I must be going insane!

Dead or dying, no it can't be

that's the grim reaper coming for ME!

The more paralyzed I became the more I could see,

he looked more confused then filled with glee.

He said, "You're early."

with a hint of surprise.

He had to be mistaken, surly

why else would the grim reaper be in front of my eyes?

I pleaded and cried for him not to take me away.

With a hardy voice, he said: "You don't understand, not today!"

He then disappeared into the shadows from which he came

and my body seemed to come to life once again.

I awoke with a start with my heart pounding in my chest.

Terrified of when the day would come that I would finally be laid to rest.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Eliza Vargas

LA, aspiring singer, actress, and writer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.