Poets logo

My Dad Was My Hero

His Uniform Was Blue

By Jeffrey Pipes GuicePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

My dad was a police officer...

He took a vow to faithfully serve...

He protected our friends and neighbors...

A man of courage and strong nerve...

He left for work one morning...

As he did most everyday...

He said “Mind your mother...”

It was just his normal way...

But at school that early morning...

The principal’s aide came into my class...

My teacher called my name out loud...

And handed me a hall pass...

She couldn’t look right at me...

But I noticed tears fell from her eyes...

Her face was red and her hands were shaking...

She seemed somewhat traumatized...

She told me to follow the aide...

That someone had come to call...

She said my momma needed me...

She said “Now, I want you to stand tall...”

I didn’t quite understand...

What she was saying at that time...

Nothing seemed too real that moment...

My thoughts were all sublime...

As I entered the principal’s office...

I saw my mom standing with our priest...

The last time I saw that look on their faces...

Was when my grandfather was deceased...

I said “Hello there mother!”

“Whatcha doing at my school?”

She took my little hands in hers...

And led me to the vestibule...

She said “Your dad was hurt at work today.”

I immediately asked “Will he be alright?”

She looked me straight in the eyes...

And then she held my hands real tight...

“Your daddy was killed in action...

And he loved you very much...

Your daddy was very proud of you...

He wants you to be strong, as such...”

At first I was a bit confused...

And then I got really sad...

And then I can’t remember what happened next...

As I was screaming for my dad...

My daddy was my hero...

He went off to protect our home...

I had no idea that morning...

He was going to leave us all alone...

I miss my dad more than ever...

The little things, like throwing a ball...

It’s these times when everyone reminds me...

That my dad would want me to stand tall...

But people don’t really understand...

They say things to try to be nice...

When you sign up to be a police officer...

It’s your family that pays the price...

My daddy was my hero...

I am proud his uniform was blue...

I’ll never forget you dad...

I’ll never stop loving you...

© 2020 Jeffrey Pipes Guice

Image: Aaron Thompson

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Jeffrey Pipes Guice

Jeffrey worked for years in New York City and Washington D.C. while traveling throughout Europe, Africa, Asia, and even spent some time in Antarctica. But the true discoveries came from inside himself, and that poetic journey is shown here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.