Poets logo

My brain lies to me

Does yours?

By Lane BurnsPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
My brain lies to me
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

Someone once told me

That no one cares.

About the health inside our minds.

Until they see it on the outside.

I always thought they meant the cuts.

And scars.

But I’ve come to realize our outsides.

Reflect our insides.

It shows up in the bags under my eyes.

In the stubborn belly weight that just won’t leave.

In the depths of my eyes that don’t shine

In the way I walk and refuse to talk.

In the paleness of my skin.

And the inability to get warm.

It shows up as tiredness

As irrationality.

And anxiety.

In reality, my mental well-being is connected.

To my outer reflection.

And as I got to thinking.

Maybe the first half of that first sentence is wrong too…

No one cares about it…

They actually kind of do.

They just don’t always know what to say.

How to express their concern.

So they take you shopping.

Ask if you need food.

Remind you to drink water.

And nag you to get out of the house.

Some times it feels and sounds;

That they just don’t really care.

But that could be your brain’s refusal.

To see a better perspective.

I’ve come to think.

That in reality,

They care a lot more then we think.

We just don’t hear it,

Until they’re panicking over

Our own self harm.

sad poetry

About the Creator

Lane Burns

I’ve always wanted to be a writer. I’m still just finding my voice and coming to believe that I can do this again. I like writing poetry and darker fiction. As well as some fan fictions!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Lane BurnsWritten by Lane Burns

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.