Poets logo

My Body

A Poem

By KellyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
My Body
Photo by Jakayla Toney on Unsplash

My body has been good to me

Each scar bears its own little story

Untold truths full of wonder and mystery

A rugged and painful history

Beaten and battered by past loves she thought would never end

Heart broken, again and again yet she still pushes on

Eyes full of hope for what’s to come

Curves shamed by society yet still somehow still a part of me

I attempt to recognize them as gifts that bear witness to

The life that once resided inside of me, now beside me

A mother, past lover, and friend

I give her the grace that she is due

For all she has been through

And still showing up despite heartache and gloom

Still flourishing and standing tall

Weeping eyes mourning yet she bears it all

A heart once stopped, no twice, chest ripped open yet she

Still pushes on

Breath and body rhythmically in tune

Withstanding season after season

As her responsibilities rise

Aging with time

She does not shy away although at time she wishes for her own demise

To set aside the suffering and break free from the painful reality of what it

Is to be alive...

She cries into the night asking how much pain can one body take

Yet day after day she awakes...

Yes, she has been good to me

A story full of wonder and mystery

Agony and misery

Yet she still pushes on

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Kelly

Hello and thanks for visiting my profile!

I have always possessed a love for reading, writing and poetry and am so grateful to have the opportunity to share my passion with others.

I hope you enjoy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.