Poets logo

A Poem

the dreams of a mother

By KellyPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
1
A Poem
Photo by Ameer Basheer on Unsplash

The dreams I had for you,

if only you knew.

I'd do anything to make them come true.

For you to grow in safety and security, not caught in between,

but free to be whoever you wanted to be.

Supported by family, equally, no tension or strife.

Oh, what I wouldn't give to turn all of the wrongs right.

I lay down and think of you.

Dreaming of the future I used to believe in, wishing you could share my dream too.

Oh, if you only knew the depths of the love I have for you,

you'd never accept such lies as truth.

But I hold onto you in spirit.

It's painful, I'll admit it, but

I still pray that someday these dreams come true.

And until then, my heart won't be content, as all I wanted was the absolute best for you.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Kelly

Hello and thanks for visiting my profile!

I have always possessed a love for reading, writing and poetry and am so grateful to have the opportunity to share my passion with others.

I hope you enjoy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.