Poets logo

My Blues

A poem written in 1970 but which may have relevance today as well.

By John Oliver SmithPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
C'mon people, let's get on the same page here . . .

I’m just sittin’ here.

I’m just blowin’ my mind.

I got nothin’ to do,

So I’m just wasting my time.

And I’m singing this tune,

Trying to get words to rhyme.

But there’s no melody,

So ain’t it a crime?

Now everyone else,

Is out having a ball.

And I’m just sittin’ at home,

Thinkin’ of all,

Of the fun that I had,

When I was just small.

But now that I’m older,

I don’t have any at all.

So I guess I’ll just sit here,

For quite a long while,

Until people world-wide start changing,

Stop warring, start in to smile.

Stop killing their brothers,

Stop invading border miles.

I hope they soon realize wealth shouldn’t be measured in money and piles,

Of dead.

So my friends, can’t you see,

I’m really not wasting my time,

I’m working on being me.

And with some co-operation

You and I could be free,

And the same for whole nations maybe.

War seems outdated – it’s hypocrisy.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

John Oliver Smith

Baby, son, brother, child, student, collector, farmer, photographer, player, uncle, coach, husband, student, writer, teacher, father, science guy, fan, coach, grandfather, comedian, traveler, chef, story-teller, driver, regular guy!!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.