Poets logo

My Aunt-My Friend

Did I Thank You Enough

By Lizz ChambersPublished 15 days ago Updated 15 days ago 1 min read
My Aunt-My Friend
Photo by J W on Unsplash

As I look back over time, I find myself wondering,…Did I remember to thank you enough

If you have to ask, maybe you lacked in that regard

So many times, you stood by me when others did not

Yes, I encouraged and supported you when others turned away

You celebrated my success when I was not even sure I had succeeded

Yes, I often saw what you did not; I understood your problems and accepted your defeats

You always believed in me when I did not believe in myself

Please know that as I leave this earthy plain, I am still with you, believing in you

Again, I have to ask. I know I thanked you, but was it enough

Once again, if you have to ask…

I know I don’t get a second chance because your soul is now saying goodbye to your body

But my spirit will always be with you, my love

How will I know you are still with me

When a butterfly brushes gently by, you know it is me assuring you I am free from pain

I am afraid I will let you down in some way

Know that when a flower catches your attention, I am reminding you to appreciate the simple things in life

What if I forget and stop believing in myself and others without you here to remind me

When you hear the rain gently tapping on your window sill, hear my words encouraging you to believe

I have made so many missteps in life and fear there will be more

Remember, you are not your mistakes it is your ability to start again I so admire

I will always hold you in my heart and my mind

I know, and now you must release me to whatever lies beyond

One last word, please

Yes, and then I must go

Please know that I know how lucky I am and how blessed I’ve been

I know, my love, I was more than your Aunt; I was also your friend

~

Free Verse

About the Creator

Lizz Chambers

I began writing business articles as the Vice President of a hotel management company and found that I was good at it. I want to grow as a fiction writer, and Vocal can help me in that pursuit.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran15 days ago

    This was so emotional and heartwarming. Loved it so much!

  • Shirley Belk15 days ago

    loved it!

  • Emmie Falbo15 days ago

    the immersion that this poem gives is absolutely wonderful! So much emotion, I love this poem.

Lizz ChambersWritten by Lizz Chambers

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.