Poets logo

Breaking The Chains

A poetic tribute to Juneteenth

By Joe PattersonPublished 8 days ago Updated 7 days ago 1 min read

Born in captivity, dreaming of liberty.

I’ll be free one day, it’s what I’ll see one day.

Follow the North Star out of the southern hell.

There’s a story in freedom that I’ll be the one to tell.

One day heartless men were gunning for my freedom.

After this happened I started running for my freedom.

Praying to the Lord all night and every day.

Hoping and wish one day I’d get away.

When I’m the one enslaved who’s gonna heal me?

Nobody. They’re either gonna capture me or kill me.

They took away my name and I don’t even know the real me.

This eats away at my spirit now tell me can you feel me?

Juneteenth came and freedom can be felt now.

And all my former captors are having a meltdown.

They’ll try to keep me there. They think they need me there.

No matter what, never again will they see me there.

I’ll make sure my ancestors didn’t die in vain.

Surely I won’t live my life in vain.

I will forever be escaping the chains.

This Juneteenth and every other I’ll be breaking the chains.

Holidaysocial commentaryslam poetryinspirational

About the Creator

Joe Patterson

Hi I'm Joe Patterson. I am a writer at heart who is a big geek for film, music, and literature, which have all inspired me to be a writer. I rap, write stories both short and long, and I'm also aspiring to be an author and a filmmaker.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dr. Jason Benskin7 days ago

    The emotional depth and intensity of your writing bring to life the journey from oppression to freedom, making it both relatable and inspiring. Your ability to convey such a complex and transformative experience in a few stanzas is truly remarkable. Thank you for sharing this incredible piece. Your words are a powerful reminder of the strength within us all and the importance of seeking freedom and self-empowerment. I look forward to reading more of your work in the future.

Joe PattersonWritten by Joe Patterson

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.