Poets logo

My Anxious Self

How anxiety makes me feel

By Simon GeorgePublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Ismael Sanchez (Pexels)

I feel like I could cry at any moment

Crumble into a puddle of what I used to be

I tremor with the strain of my fears

They tear at my skin piece by piece

Myself escaping through the gaps

Dying by a thousand cuts of insecurity

My armour long since penetrated

And my strength locked away

Imprisoned by the gremlins I've created

They wreak havoc on my self-worth

My confidence shredded

I fold into paper, discarded in a pile

The lattice, unintentional and chaotic

I'm pieced together like a broken jigsaw

Forced together by frustration

My picture no longer clear

I'm a Picasso of myself without deliberation

The gremlins did it.

There was a mutiny.

I cling to the ship, trying not to let go

The wake shakes me, trying to break me

Pulled in the direction of the puddle

Barely keeping myself together

Clinging on to any shred of hope that may surface

Copyright ©️ 2023 Simon George. All rights reserved.

*Published on Vocal 18/06/23

sad poetry

About the Creator

Simon George

I write poetry, fiction, and non-fiction. In 2021, I published my debut book "The Truth Behind The Smile" a self-help guide for your mental health based on my personal experience with depression. Go check it out.

IG: @AuthorSimonGeorge

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knockabout a year ago

    All but falling apart, hanging on by a single fingertip, desperate. Powerfully expressed.

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    This is so good and so relatable in so many ways. Love these lines "Dying by a thousand cuts of insecurity. My armour long since penetrated" So vivid and visceral. Well done, Simon!

Simon GeorgeWritten by Simon George

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.