Poets logo

Hangxiety

(Inspired by Lily Chu)

By Simon GeorgePublished about a year ago 1 min read
Darina Belonogova (Pexels)

I'm drunk

Or I was

Now I'm anxious

It's always the way

I'm too tired to fight it

Now I'm in it

Consumed by insecurities

Lonely

Afraid of never not

Vulnerable

Lost

Craving touch….

Affection

Safety

Racing thoughts

Tingling nerves

Every cell is alive

With thought

Overthinking is my hyperventilation

Hung is where my head sits

Palm is where my heart lies

Fear traps me

Until the forgiveness of sleep

Unconscious without judgement

In the absence of doubt

Forgiving

Accepting

Loving

*This poem was inspired by the author Lily Chu. She coined the term Hangxiety in her Novel 'The Stand In' and it just clicked with me. I've always experienced heightened anxiety when I'm hungover and I loved the term, Hangxiety.*

sad poetry

About the Creator

Simon George

I write poetry, fiction, and non-fiction. In 2021, I published my debut book "The Truth Behind The Smile" a self-help guide for your mental health based on my personal experience with depression. Go check it out.

IG: @AuthorSimonGeorge

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knockabout a year ago

    Is it possible to have hangxiety without having been drunk first?

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Very apt word. Like hanging over a cliff, neither coming or going. Your poem did the word justice.

Simon GeorgeWritten by Simon George

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.