Poets logo

My 10-Year Transformation: From Youthful Courage to Mature Wisdom

Reflecting on My Journey of Growth and Change

By Emily Chan - Life and love sharingPublished 12 days ago 2 min read
1
My 10-Year Transformation: From Youthful Courage to Mature Wisdom
Photo by Chris Lawton on Unsplash

Ten years ago, I was a different person. Back then, if I found myself in a heated argument, surrounded by a group of close friends, it was seen as a display of courage to stand my ground. I dared to stir up trouble, almost a badge of honor.

Fast forward to today, I approach conflicts with a sense of maturity. I’ve learned to avoid unnecessary confrontations, as I’m conscious of how my friends might perceive me. The fear of being ridiculed or judged has replaced the bravado of my youth.

Ten years ago, I would revel in heavy drinking sessions, belting out songs at the karaoke bar, and making the most of late nights. I had a reputation for knowing how to have a good time.

Nowadays, my priorities have shifted. I find fulfillment in working with integrity, living a more low-key lifestyle, taking care of household responsibilities, and spending quality time with my family. This transformation is regarded as reliable and responsible, no matter how successful or wealthy I may be.

Ten years ago, my temper was a force to be reckoned with. Once I got angry, it was like trying to stop a charging bull.

Ten years later, I’ve developed better emotional control. When anger flares up, I quickly realize its futility, and it dissipates as swiftly as it arose. Time has taught me the value of emotional restraint.

In my younger years, even the smallest sentimental moments would profoundly impact me.

Now, as I’ve grown older, I’ve learned to bear pain and sadness in silence. I’ve discovered that sometimes, the depth of pain is best expressed in silence, and it’s a mark of inner strength.

Ten years ago, I often pretended to understand things I didn’t, masking my confusion with a facade of knowledge.

Ten years later, I’ve embraced humility. I may still pretend to be puzzled sometimes, but it’s a way of acknowledging that I’m continually learning and growing. Life has taught me the importance of staying open to new knowledge.

Regardless of the reasons behind it, the twists and turns in my life journey, the ups and downs, and whether my past was satisfying or not, I’ve come to realize that as I approach my 70s and 80s, strength emerges from within. It’s not about losing something but gaining valuable lessons along the way.

If human weaknesses were easy to correct, what purpose would a long life serve? If the true meaning of life were simple to understand, what would be the point of enduring repeated setbacks?

Throughout our journey, we’ve bumped into challenges, shed tears, laughed heartily, felt pain, experienced despair, and found solace. We were once naive, and our lives were more straightforward. We endured injustices and deceptions and faced setbacks and tumbles, but ultimately, we’ve learned to shed our thorns and embrace patience.

In life, there are always those who teach us gratitude, forgiveness, and self-preservation. No life is devoid of pain, tears, or mistakes. Living is a process of maturation, much like my transformation over the past ten years.

How is your transformation over the past ten years?

Thank you for reading!

Mental Healthlove poemsinspirationalhow tofact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Emily Chan - Life and love sharing

Blog Writer/Storyteller/Write stores and short srories.I am a writer who specializes in love,relationships and life sharing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 12 days ago

    Fantastic! Well written

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.