Poets logo

MVP

Almost had it all

By Jahnari RoséPublished 4 months ago 2 min read
2
Greatness to be gained

Most Valuable Person

A challenge to become better fulfilled in the most unimaginable ways, I love who I'm becoming.

Energy was spent and promises were kept,

The lengths were reached the tears came through and the year was drenched.

All the opportunities that present growth were approached despite a lack of knowledge or experience.

I took chances I never in a million years would dream of and what I got from it hopefully will last me a lifetime.

We often chose to regret what we did and it's in many ways better than regretting what could’ve happened if I did, a philosophy to risk it all for no reason to gain just a little bit of anything.

Found love for myself at the expense of the ones who wasted the love I would endlessly pour into, and almost achieved the greatest peace I have had.

Just as I peaked I jumped off my summit to some of the lowest places and then life continued to plummet.

I found my heart in the shiny eyes of an angel who lost her way in the pretty lights,

Waiting for the day to hear her sing again.

I was broken down to my core and built back up as the world I briefly vacated burned to ashes, I returned to the ruins and those that survived will never be the same.

The most painful feeling is knowing I'll never get to go home, it's not about where but more of who and what with a bit of how

I committed to a journey that is a lot longer than I bargained for afraid of sacrifices I will have to make,

It's my turn and I will take from the world more than it has taken from me, I'll get my cake and I will eat it too,

I went for the gold and got it,

I found great heights,

I will climb to reach the greater,

Search for the worth that is more than gold,

I gave it all for my last year of youth,

Now I must perfect my prime before I grow old. Never giving up on love but no longer willing to obtain it by a sacrifice of my soul.

The piece of the year,

Chasing away my greatest fears,

The end draws near,

Staying true to myself I will make it there.

The most valuable person goes to all who chased something greater than themselves this year.

Keep Chasing Greatness,

For the rewards will be greater than gold and will last you as time grows old

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Jahnari Rosé

“Do not explain your philosophy, Live it..”

I write about love, healing, and self-development.

I take most of my own photos.

I post work on Instagram @roze.writes25.

All written and approved for submission under © 2023 Rozeville, Inc

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • k eleanor4 months ago

    Your words hit me with waves of optimism and power. Well done!

  • This was so optimistic, uplifting and powerful! Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.