Poets logo

Muse

Spoken Word Poetry

By Bethany BainPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3
Muse
Photo by Álvaro Serrano on Unsplash

"Where have you been?"

My voice is soft, and I ask you slowly.

"Where have I been, where have you been?"

You are growling, and you are angry,

Neglected and starving.

I feel the tears well my eyes.

"I have been looking for you"

And I hit the ground.

I know what you'll say

Looking for you,

How could I have possibly been?

I chained you to this fencepost, and I knew where I left you.

I turned off the porch lights and told you not to come home.

I threw all your belongings in the trash and kept my memories hidden in boxes high in closets.

Because for the all joy you brought me,

You brought me pain.

You brought back memories of people and things that I wanted to black out forever

You painted them in the best light, with undertones of pink and gold.

You made them God like in my memory,

And I can never forgive you.

And everyone called you a gift.

Called you talent.

Called you poetry.

While I called you burnout,

And a crazy work schedule,

And responsibilities.

Because when I gave you a pen and a paper,

you chose to colour my vision pink

And made it so impossible to see red flags.

That I tore down my walls,

And fired my general.

And you let them invade my castle.

heartbreak
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.