Poets logo

MurderVerse

Queen St. East

By David ParhamPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
Like
MurderVerse
Photo by Filip Mroz on Unsplash

All the shops were closing for the night

Under the street lamps, people turned into shadows

Two shadows sat in the front seat of Jules Escalade

Two fools

Following orders

Orders from the top.

Sanctioned hit.

Convo as follows

Johnny: What kind of leather is this?

Johnny touches the upholstery

Jules: I don't know the wife picked out the accoutrements

Johnny: That's an interesting word, what's it mean?

Jules: Extras. Stuff that don't normally come with the car.

Johnny: I like that word, Accoutrements

Jules: My mother always used to say it, may she rest in peace.

Johnny: Good woman, your mother

Jules: the best. How's your mom doing?

Johnny: She's Okay. A little crazy but that's the accoutrements of old age

"Use the words you choose." From, You Too Can Write.

Jules laughed. That sounded weird.

Johnny: What?

Jules: Johnny your definitely not a big word guy.

Johnny: What's that supposed to mean, I'm stupid?

Jules: No Johnny, you're not stupid. I just never heard you say accoutrements before

Johnny: Accoutrements, there I said it again. Accoutrements is my word now.

"Don't be afraid to drop your new word into conversations." U2CW

Jules: Okay it's your word.

"Say the new word until you're comfortable using it." U2CW

Johnny: Did your ma use a lot of big words like that?

Jules: She was always correcting us on grammar.

Johnny: Like what?

Jules: Like if you said, I don't got no beans, mom would say, I haven't any beans.

Johnny: I think I'd like your ma.

Jules: The correct term is mother. I think I might like your mother.

Johnny: You sound like Stewie from Family Guy.

Jules: My mother - may she rest in peace - Always said a large vocabulary is simply pretense without the use of proper grammar for context.

Johnny: Contest?

Jules: Context. Look it up.

Johnny: Your mother said that, didn't she?

Jules: Yep, I looked up a lot of words.

Johnny: So do you correct your kids' grammar?

Jules: Sometimes.

Johnny: If I had kids I'd probably make them say the correct words

Jules: My mother got off the boat when she was fifteen, she had nothing, no money, no English. It was her lifelong passion to learn and speak proper English.

Johnny: Did she ever speak to you in Italian?

Jules: Only when she was pissed off.

excerptsperformance poetrysad poetryslam poetrysocial commentaryinspirational
Like

About the Creator

David Parham

Writer, Filmmaker, Digital artist.

The ever Changing Complexities of Life, Fear, Mysteries and Capturing that which may not be there Tomorrow.

Complex, Change, Fear, Mystery, Tomorrow & Capture. Six reasons I write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.