Poets logo

Mundane Yellow

#VocalNPM

By Bianca WargoPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
1

I was always

Afraid– that I wouldn't fit in.

I didn't feel like I could laugh,

Or dance around,

Or sing my heart out–

Enjoy life's simple pleasures...

Not like I can here, that is.

Some may beg to differ, but

This place– these people–

They've all welcomed me with open arms

in ways no one else has.

I've never known another home than the one from where I came.

But this is home to me.

I'm only here for four years, but this–

This is home to me.

Not every story should be sad; most

Should be happy.

But there are always–

Always–

Sad parts.

If sunshine were there all the time,

It wouldn't have the same meaning.

If everything were yellow,

We wouldn't have happiness–

Just mundane.

Explanation

After graduating from high school, I was terrified of how college life would treat me. I was never one to fit in during my childhood and most of my high school career, but moving away from home helped me to open my eyes. No matter where you go, there will be things and people that upset you, but without those people and things, it's hard to gain a true appreciation for the good things in life, no matter how simple those things may be. My parents told me that all the time, but being a teenager, I didn't listen to them. Moving away kind of meant that I either learn, or continue being stubborn and miserable; the former was and still is much more appealing.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Bianca Wargo

Psychology and English Writing double major at Kean U

1 Thessalonians 4:3-8

Leaving my old writing up to go back sometimes and see how God's changed me to be better.

PODCAST: Gold Scars (available on Spotify & Anchor)

insta/TikTok: @biancawargo

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.