Poets logo

Mow the lawn

Cutting grass shouldn’t be this easy

By M. OlayinkaPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Mow the lawn
Photo by Zé Zorzan on Unsplash

A master told his servant to mow the lawn

The grass in the garden is far too tall,

Mow it down, let it fall.

Lest they should stand up by themself,

Cut it down take their wealth.

Cut it ragged, cut it neat,

Lest they should stand on their own two feet.

Break the clouds, let it rain,

Reign on people, bring the pain.

Let it run red rivers of rouge,

Beat the clouds, black, purple and blue.

Beat the clouds well soft as clay,

Those who stand tall, make them pay.

Cut the grass quick, do it at night,

Turn the light off, blind their sight.

Leave the weeds and the thorns,

Let them grow like fields of corn.

Let the grass turn brown and red,

Cut it down make it dead.

Can’t you see my green uniform,

I am in charge, my law is the norm.

I'll break your white teeth from straight to crooked,

I am the law, my way is not wicked.

The servant replies

Don't you know who you are talking to,

May be twice my age, but I am no fool.

Even said you could be my husband,

Destroy my passport, leave me with no land.

You are the general, master and chief,

You are in charge, but you are a thief.

Now you are ill, you’ve always been sick,

Like green nettles it hurts as a kick.

Suffering from white lies, Yellow fever,

Corruption, jaundice all or either.

Take green herbs make you feel better,

Though it may taste dreadfully bitter.

You have it all: malaria, Ebola,

But worst of all SARS and Corona.

Take these herbs #endSARS now,

It cures every illness don’t ask me how.

My white eyes see you’re green with envy,

Full of greed, the cure is lengthy

If I cut the grass now, you will fail to see,

The strength, in peace and unity.

So arise O Compatriots,

When they mow the lawns and let them fall,

Keep growing strong, independent and tall.

By Ehimetalor Akhere Unuabona on Unsplash

Written M. O. Olayinka

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

M. Olayinka

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.