Poets logo

Moving with Determination.

Dear My Sweet Burden,

By Wilfred KiariePublished about a year ago 4 min read
2
Moving with Determination.
Photo by Kingsley Osei-Abrah on Unsplash

In life, mistakes are made,

And sometimes they are unforgivable,

But I have learned to forgive,

Even those who caused me pain, unbearable.

I have tried to replace,

The ones who held my heart,

But they can never be replaced,

For they are a part of me, a vital part.

My actions were impulsive,

And many were disappointed,

I ended up heartbroken and lost,

My mistakes left me disjointed.

Those most affected by my actions,

Were the ones I loved the most,

But I have learned from my mistakes,

And I strive to make amends, coast to coast.

I have made friends along the way,

And some have become eternal,

Their love and support sustains me,

When my own path becomes infernal.

Sometimes my craziness comes out,

And I laugh at my own jokes,

But I know that true friends,

Will love me even when I'm a bit of a bloke.

Love is a complicated thing,

And sometimes it's unrequited,

But I give it freely anyway,

Hoping it will be reciprocated.

Music is a balm for the soul,

And it soothes me in my pain,

It brings back memories, happy and sad,

And helps me heal again and again.

Memories can be bittersweet,

Some I regret and some I treasure,

But they all make up who I am,

And they are a part of my personal measure.

I've lost loved ones along the way,

And my heart aches when I remember,

But I know they would want me to live,

And to be happy, to never surrender.

Life is short, that I know,

And I live each day with purpose,

I shout out to my heart, "Live!"

And the echoes come back, courageous.

I dream of a better future,

And I strive to make it real,

I keep my faith and press on,

With gratitude, and a determined zeal.

For what is life but to live,

To embrace it with all our passion,

To accept our losses and keep going,

And to never give up, that's the fashion.

So I live each day at a time,

Knowing the end is a part of the course,

And I whisper to myself, "DWKW",

As I keep moving forward,

With unstoppable force.

I know that life is a journey,

With twists and turns along the way,

And sometimes the road seems too steep,

But I keep moving forward, come what may.

I have learned to embrace my failures,

And to grow from each mistake,

For they have taught me valuable lessons,

And have helped me become more awake.

I strive to live my life with purpose,

To follow my dreams with all my might,

To never let fear hold me back,

And to always keep my heart in sight.

For the heart is what keeps us going,

When the road seems too hard to bear,

It is the source of our strength and courage,

And it reminds us that we're never alone, anywhere.

So I shout out to my heart once more,

"Live, love, laugh and dream!",

And I feel the echoes of its beat,

A reminder of what it truly means.

To live up to my fullest potential,

To love deeply and without fear,

To laugh often and with abandon,

And to never stop dreaming, year after year.

For life is a precious gift,

And it's up to us to make it count,

To live each day with gratitude,

And to never let our spirit falter or mount.

So I press on towards my aim,

With my heart leading the way,

And I know that as long as I keep going,

I'll be closer to my dreams each day.

I am grateful for the challenges,

For they have made me strong,

And I am thankful for the blessings,

That have kept me going all along.

I know that there will be more obstacles,

That I'll have to face and overcome,

But I am ready for whatever comes my way,

And I'll keep moving forward, never succumb.

For life is a journey, not a destination,

And each step we take is a part of the whole,

So I'll cherish each moment and every memory,

And I'll keep striving to reach my goal.

I'll take the lessons from my past,

And use them to shape my future,

I'll follow my heart and my intuition,

And never let anyone deter me or obscure.

I'll live my life with purpose and passion,

And never let fear hold me back,

I'll spread love and kindness wherever I go,

And always keep my spirit intact.

For in the end, it's not about what we achieve,

But the person we become on our way,

So I'll keep growing and evolving,

And I'll make every moment count, every day.

And when my time here is done,

I'll know that I gave it my all,

And I'll rest easy, knowing that I lived,

And answered my heart's every call.

So I'll shout out to my heart once more,

"Live, love, laugh, and dream!",

And I'll feel the echoes of its beat,

A reminder of what it truly means.

Sincerely yours,

Determined Bearer.

performance poetry
2

About the Creator

Wilfred Kiarie

Former Health and Fitness Influencer/ Author/ Article writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen12 months ago

    We pour our souls into our writing. It is therapy for me, I keep telling everyone.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.