Poets logo

Mourning

for a stranger

By charlotte meilaenderPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Mourning
Photo by Kenny Orr on Unsplash

I was a girl,

Who collected pine cones and bird feathers,

Who ran soft-footed through the world,

Treading on stardust. 

Now I am no more. 

I have ceased to exist. 

An empty hull sits behind a desk,

Like an empty seed pod when the seeds have long dispersed upon the breeze. 

I was a child

With nothing stopping me,

The world before me barely waiting

For me to witness all there was, in silent awe. 

I was so small, 

A tiny speck of dusty earth

Cradled in the safe embrace

Of a world that lent me life and strength. 

Now all is gone. 

There is no more earth, no hard-packed ground beneath my feet. 

There are only four white walls holding me in,

And a brain that shriveled up and died, long ago. 

I am empty. 

There is no peace, there is no conflict,

Nothing will stir me from my torpid stupor. 

I am a corpse, waiting in a shallow grave. 

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

charlotte meilaender

Performing artist with an itch for writing. Fueled by coffee and the age-old wish to create something worthwhile. Welcome to my world <3

Follow the journey on my instagram @cmmwriting for updates on my stories and behind the scenes looks.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.