Poets logo

Motorbike

A poem on the need to rest

By Alicja Pyszka-FranceschiniPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
1

Here's a poem that comes from personal experience and reflects on my accident on a motorbike that I had when I was younger. My friend was trying to teach me to ride it but I had forgotten to ask where the brake was and ended up riding into a netted fence. It was a good idea to go straight rather than to turn left. I would have hit a car otherwise. Here I am reflecting also on the need of holiday and taking a break in life.

Motorbike

He gave me his motorbike

To ride

I started it 

And I rode it

Into a fence

He didn't tell me where the brake was!

I was at a loss

My dearest friend, Artur

Friend from my childhood. 

I was lucky I didn't die

I was lucky I didn't turn

If I turned left

It would be my end. 

Who guided me? 

Who told me to go straight? 

An invisible hand. 

She wanted me to walk

She wanted me to run

She saved my backbone

Even the motorbike

Was not terribly done

I was meant to

Witness Her devotion

And a lack of brake? 

Was that just a caution?

That I must stop at times

Rest and unravel

Be, laugh and travel

The fence was easily fixed

My bruises easily counted

But the caution remains

‘Think about the break’

In order not to be dismounted.

You will drive far

You will deliver

Just rest

Why do you still dither?

Go and take a break.

- But life will reward me

With new tasks to take.

- Old or new

You will choose

You won’t transgress

If you redress

This excess of stress.

Just learn to caress.

Your body with sunshine

You eyes with some sleep

Your children with laughter.

This will go so deep.

Just dance and play.

It will do you well.

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Alicja Pyszka-Franceschini

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.