Poets logo

Mortal Immortality

The only thing that never dies

By Elisa GreenPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
2
Mortal Immortality
Photo by Aron Visuals on Unsplash

In the realm between life and eternal rest,

Where shadows mingle, and darkness nests

I am the one who marks your inception,

From first breath to the cry of perception.

I accompany you on each waking morn,

As golden rays embrace I allow the reborn,

A cousin to the dream weaver of night,

I am the herald of morning's pure light.

With autumn's arrival, I'm the seasons descend,

As wizened leaves fall, their cycle end,

Bringing the dryness, and killing cold chill,

In Winter's call, I'm the stiff standing still.

I am poisoned air taking the breath that you cling

I am drowning in water, the suffocating,

Escaping my grasp no one can shake,

And when I am ready, your soul I will take.

I'm the silent raptor, the thief in the night,

I make you let go of your last grasp on life

Some prepare for me, with fear in their hearts,

The grim and the darkness I am the depart.

Buried bones resurface, the stretch as they grow

I am the mortality, we all come to know,

I am the inevitable, the mistress of fate,

An immortal presence, there is no escape

For I am death, everlasting, profound,

A somber truth, in silence I'm found,

But fear not my existence, for it's intertwined,

With the beauty of life, that forever will bind.

sad poetrynature poetryCONTENT WARNING
2

About the Creator

Elisa Green

I have a deep passion for writing, and upon completing a poem or story, I experience an immense sense of satisfaction and fulfillment.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Great work! Fantastic 🩷❤️🧡💚🩶🖤💜💙🩵

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.