Poets logo

Morphing Spaces

The Choices they call Home

By EyekayPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
4
Morphing Spaces
Photo by Alex Padurariu on Unsplash

Smells of coffee swirl

I place elbows on table burl.

a warm cup and a steam curl,

I'm out in a snowflake whirl.

I feel warm liquid course

letting mind divorce

from freezing winter force.

The cold is just savage

as bitter winds ravage

Outside there's much damage,

but a warm bed I manage.

The warmth of another season

a morphing home is the reason.

I live with milling nature.

a visit from occasional creature.

With views of sun, moon, and stars.

yet close enough to a bar.

I've heard the variety that is home

comes suited to each biome.

By Jon Garrison on Unsplash

Sand to Ice, steel to stone

Homes of metal, homes of glass

fear not, there's for every class.

By Scott Lorsch on Unsplash

Now home's outer space?

That cannot be my case

I know a thing about displace

sometimes I just can't feel my face.

I invite you to my bower,

manicured garden and flower.

I let my home encompass

material wood and grass.

.

By Doug Kelley on Unsplash

My home is modern and mobile

constructed of canvas and steel,

I dig up an unfinished meal

despite a huge lack of appeal.

Mixed materials, varied choice

In all this I keep a poise.

Sometimes a can or a bottle

I collect to recycle

not for bagel or coffee,

but a seat in a warm café

Forced to be malleable,

I take what is available

I cannot put food on the table

for

Somewhere when I lost my voice,

it forced me the Hobson's Choice.

By Matt Collamer on Unsplash

fact or fiction
4

About the Creator

Eyekay

I write because I must. I believe each one of us has the ability to propel humanity forward.

And yes, especially in these moments, Schadenfreude must not rule the web.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.