Poets logo

The School Bell

The more things change, the more they stay the same.

By EyekayPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
9
The School Bell
Photo by Markus Winkler on Unsplash

The sound of the same school bell

struck a happier note at school’s end.

A lightness despite school load,

matched spring in return step.

By Larry George II on Unsplash

Right after last school bell,

just to rid a heavy satchel,

I truly intended coming home.

But heavy rains beckoned,

gifting a water-logged meadow .

With mud-streaked face and damp hair,

stained clothing, umbrella unopened

knee-deep in muck I heartily plunged.

The easy path was never mine.

By Andre Taissin on Unsplash

One by one I tore at them,

pages from homework book.

From them came rescue boats

to keep drowning creatures afloat,.

By Bruno Kelzer on Unsplash

With lighter load and carefree heart,

I headed home to mother.

One quick scolding,

a hot bath,

and porridge later,

'twas straight-up beddy-bye.

Undeterred, I did it again.

Over and over...

...until the butterfly called Time

flitted to sit

on another childhood.

By David Clode on Unsplash

Now she stands in front,

twin pigtails askew,

in mud-streaked clothes

and squelchy boots.

I must pretend reproach.

Although I fully understand,

I'll never let her see

that rising indulgence within.

I see me in her

while she sees mother in me.

And there it is, the carefree

and the care in free.

A concern in the free

only my mother once knew

has squarely landed upon me.

By Sai De Silva on Unsplash

childrens poetry
9

About the Creator

Eyekay

I write because I must. I believe each one of us has the ability to propel humanity forward.

And yes, especially in these moments, Schadenfreude must not rule the web.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.