Poets logo

Morning Routines

Till the end of my days...

By Ethan StilesPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
1

Dawn dreams of simple pleasures

The dew drops frosted upon the grass right in between your toes

And then when it snows and gets much too cold

Your breath is caught for a mere moment, quietly suspended in the air

“Bring me your sinners”

Twilight simply sighs

“Leave your saints at home;

They don’t fool me anymore”

Dawn, it hopes for better futures

For you, for me, for all seven of your little, little sisters

And all five of your fiery, faultless brothers

Dawn longs for ease and simplicity

A brief yawn, a stretch, and some strong coffee

Soft, soft music plays that forgets yesterday’s blows

A black and white sketch of happiness to come

You fantasize about sleeping in till noon rolls around

But wide awake and stuck in a song you wander

You sip, and although uncertain you may seem

In your bright, light blues I see

Determination staring right back at me

I tire underneath those eyes

In between your arms I long to be

Like the firm branches of a strong oak tree

‘Til the end of time

‘Til the end of my days

artlove poems
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.