Poets logo

Moondance

Was it only a dream?

By Holly PheniPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - December 2022
41
Moondance
Photo by malith d karunarathne on Unsplash

This poem is for the Full Moon challenge on Vocal+.

A Waltz With the Moon

Last night upon a silver sea

The moon came down and danced with me.

He swept me up and over craters

Like a graceful figure skater.

“My beams can’t shine as bright as thee,

My lover when you gaze at me.”

He whispered words of love and light,

He kept me safe, so big and bright.

In deepest dark I felt no fear,

As long as Moon, my Moon was near.

All through the night we spun and swirled,

We felt as though we ruled the world.

Past glowing stars we carried on

Embracing ‘till the break of dawn.

Until the bustling city started,

We said goodbye so brokenhearted.

Am I moonstruck? Yes, I swoon,

For love of the man, the man in the moon.

When I wake, they say I dreamed it.

Moon, if you’re listening, I really mean it.

surreal poetryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poems
41

About the Creator

Holly Pheni

This page is for dreamchasing, adventure, and catharsis. Hope my musings connect with others out there.

Blog: flyingelephantmom.com

Creators I'm Loving:

Gina Jori Heather Dharrsheena Tiffany Babs

Cathy Misty Caroline Rick Mike Lonzo Scott

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    Simply sublime!

  • Jay Kabout a year ago

    This is really good Holly... I like the flow. May I also ask you to take a look at mine which I wrote for the same contest but realised it required a paid subscription. https://vocal.media/poets/oh-the-full-moon

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Beautiful!!! Loved it!!!

  • Veronica Coldironabout a year ago

    I love this! It draws you in!

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Beautiful ❤️ Love the visual you created

  • This is Beautiful ❤️😏I want to Dance with the moon 🌝who got next❓❔

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    Love the captivating, dreamy feel of. this. Nice work! :)

  • Angelina F. Thomasabout a year ago

    Great job. Keep it up youre awesome!!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Beautiful words a d flow. It really sounds like a dream. Well done a s congrats on the top story

  • P. K. Ganiabout a year ago

    This one really sweeps you off your feet, who wouldn't love this encounter with the moon, beautiful.

  • Brin J.about a year ago

    Wow. I've never had my breath stolen from me by a poem before. This part: "All through the night we spun and swirled, We felt as though we ruled the world." literally made me gasp. Beautifully written. I could feel you express your love for the moon which I find wholesome because I too am deeply in love with the moon. <3

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Fantastic!! I loved the flow of this one. It really did have a dream-like quality, wonderful work :) Congratulations on the Top Story!!

  • Kelly Robertsonabout a year ago

    This is beautiful! Well done!!

  • Excellent work , love your words and a great one for the challenge

  • Love the cuteness in this. Amazing, heartfelt piece.

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    This is truly beautiful; there are so many lovely lines in here!! 😍😍 Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.