Poets logo

Moon in the blue sky

True colors submission: The late afternoon, early evening sky that makes me wish to spend it with you.

By Finn D'AmorePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Longing for what's close enough to see, too far to hold.

~Moon In The Blue Sky~

Moon in the blue sky, follow me home,
Moon in the blue sky, light the way in darkest nights,
Moon in the blue sky, please don't leave, even when rain clouds come to take your shine away,
Moon in the blue sky, you look so close, as if I could just extended my hand and grab you strait from where you've been but,
My hands come up empty every time, why is that?
Why aren't you mine again?
Why aren't you back here?
Moon in the blue sky, do you hear me when I pray at night?
Moon in the blue sky, you give me signs from beyond, but you're still not mine again, why is that?
Moon in the blue sky, I'm so lost without your light, I should be in darkest nights but I'm not!
Why do you save me?
Why do you do these things?
Am I different than all the rest? Am I just lucky? Am I nothing at all and everything's been a grand coincidence?
I feel your presence, but I can't hear your voice and when I try to call you it says your numbers no longer in service and it hurts!
I never wanted that.
Nobody prepared me for this.
Moon in the blue sky, why did it have to happen like that? Is life just one big trap?
We walk along the solid grey concrete with automobiles driving close behind, bright yellow headlights signifying their presence and don't give it a second thought.
Moon in the blue sky, why is that?
Moon in the blue sky, will you shead some light on the situation? I don't understand why life is like this.
Moon in the blue sky, please pay your phone bill, I have so much to tell you and,
I don't know how I'd feel if someone else got your number.
I'd rather be robbed house and home, every dime I'd ever earn and more, than to be robbed a piece of you.
Moon in the blue sky, I feel your arms around me, but when I turned to greet you, you weren't there to exchange the favor?
Moon in the blue sky, why is that?
Why weren't you there when I turned around?
I still felt your presence like once before, before the time you went beyond my reach.
Moon in the blue sky, please answer me!
Moon in the blue sky, please come back to me.
Moon in the blue sky, one last question if you please?
I'm quite the curious child, but I have a broken mind.
Does that apply to my heart as well?
Am I broken in a way that's more than physical?
Am I too far gone for redemption?
You see, life has played a lot of sick jokes on me, quite the dark sense of humor, but my lust for life burns through it all?
Why is that? Why could I never let go of hope, even when I wanted to jump from my windows ledge?
Hope never let go and though I once thought she was the enemy of storybooks, in the end, she's been my greatest friend.
I hope for many things.
I hope when I cross the veil of life I have rich stories to share with the endless souls I may meet.
I hope when I see the souls I've held so dear and longed for my whole life that-
That I'll have something to show for the time I spent alive and not just woes to cause burden.
I'm sorry if I've rambled on for so long, but, you see,
I was broken as a child, and I'm worried that my heart may be as well.
My thoughts can lead to dark places and sometimes I worry that if the moon didn't shine through the night, I'd be lost.
Am I already lost?
Should I have just given up?
Moon in the blue sky, I'm quite the curious child you see, even with my broken mind, I'd still love to learn.
Moon in the blue sky, I'm sorry if I've rambled.
Moon in the blue sky, I'm sorry if I apologize too much.
Moon in the blue sky, my question is a common one but simple it is not,
Who am I meant to be?

~Finn D'Amore.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Finn D'Amore

My name is Finn D'Amore, I'm a poet at heart and always have been. I hope I can prove it to you.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.